On Behalf of Palacios Law Group
New York imposes serious penalties for driving while intoxicated. If arrested and convicted, you could serve up to 15 days in jail among fines and other legal consequences.
Review the facts about New York DWI penalties before facing this type of court date.
Fines and court fees
You could receive a $500 fine for the first offense of driving while ability impaired, defined as a blood alcohol content of 0.05% to 0.07% at the time of arrest. The second DWAI carries a $750 fine and the third DWAI results in a $1,500 fine.
Fines for DWI, which constitutes a BAC of 0.08% behind the wheel, start at $1,000 for the first offense, $5,000 for the second offense and $10,000 for the third offense. Aggravated DWI, or BAC higher than 0.18%, results in fines of $2,500 for the first offense.
A first-time DWAI carries up to 15 days in jail, which the court can double for a second DWAI. A third DWAI carries 180 days in jail.
You could receive up to a year in jail for a DWI with no prior convictions, four years for a second DWI and seven years for a third DWI. These sentences also apply to aggravated DWI.
Loss of license
License suspension for DWAI starts at 90 days for the first offense and a minimum of six months for a second offense. DWI offenses result in at least a six-to-12-month loss of license in New York, with up to 18-month license suspension for an aggravated DWI.
Understanding these penalties can help you determine your next steps when facing DWI charges in New York.